Europe Spring Tour 2002

Back to Entradas

Europe Spring Tour 2002

Following a series of successful dates in the western United States, Omar Sosa continues his Spring touring in France, Germany, Austria, Turkey, and Reunion Island. The band features Geoff Brennan on acoustic bass; Elliot Kavee on drums; Gustavo Ovalles on percussion; Martha Galarraga on vocals; Eric Crystal on saxophones; Sub-Z on vocals; and for May and June dates in Europe marked Omar Sosa Octet, Moroccan vocalist El Houssaine Kili will join the ensemble. Mr. Kili is featured on Omar’s latest CD release, “Sentir”, along with Gustavo Ovalles, Martha Galarraga, and Sub-Z.

Saturday, May 11 Festival de jazz en pays du Luberon Banieux, FRANCE Omar Sosa Octet

Tuesday, May 14 New Morning Paris, FRANCE Omar Sosa Octet

Wednesday, May 15 Ninkasi Lyon, FRANCE Omar Sosa Octet

Thursday, May 16 Jazz Balade, Lo Bolegason Castres, FRANCE Omar Sosa Octet

Saturday, May 18 Le Florida Agen, FRANCE Omar Sosa Octet

Monday, May 20 Moers Festival Moers, GERMANY Omar Sosa Octet

Friday & Saturday, May 24 & 25 Theatre de St. Gilles Reunion Island (France), Indian Ocean Omar Sosa Septet

Saturday, June 1 Amphitheatre de Chateauvallon Ollioules, FRANCE Omar Sosa Septet

Monday, June 3 Porgy & Bess Vienna, AUSTRIA Omar Sosa Septet

Wednesday, June 5 Jazz It! Salzburg, AUSTRIA Omar Sosa Septet

Thursday, June 6 Innsbruck, AUSTRIA Omar Sosa Septet

Friday, June 7 Tubingen, GERMANY Omar Sosa Septet

Saturday, June 8 Odeon Goppingen, GERMANY Omar Sosa Septet

Sunday, June 9 Theaterzelt Recklinghausen, GERMANY Omar Sosa Octet

Monday, June 10 Bielefeld, GERMANY Omar Sosa Septet

Wednesday, June 12 Kassel, GERMANY Omar Sosa Septet

Tuesday & Wednesday, June 14 & 15 Babylon Istanbul, TURKEY Omar Sosa Septet

Summer touring dates include:

Saturday, June 22 Clifford Brown Jazz Festival Wilmington, Delaware, USA Omar Sosa Octet

Sunday, June 23 Summer Arts Festival Huntington, New York (Long Island), USA Omar Sosa Octet

Friday, June 28 Montreal Jazz Festival Montreal, Quebec, CANADA Omar Sosa Octet

Monday, Tuesday & Wednesday, July 22, 23 & 24 Blue Note Tokyo, JAPAN Omar Sosa Octet

Thursday, July 25 Motion Blue Yokohama, JAPAN Omar Sosa Duo w/Gustavo Ovalles

Saturday, July 27 Les Nuits du Sud Vence, FRANCE Omar Sosa Octet

Tuesday, July 30 Angers l’Ete Angers, FRANCE Omar Sosa Octet

Wednesday, July 31 Festival de Jazz Aix-en-Provence, FRANCE Omar Sosa Octet

Saturday, August 3 Jazz a Vannes Vannes, FRANCE Omar Sosa Octet

Sunday, August 4 Jazz a Marciac Marciac, FRANCE Omar Sosa Octet

Reviewing the Omar Sosa Octet at the Jazz Bakery in Los Angeles, Don Heckman wrote in the April 18, 2002 issue of the Los Angeles Times, “Sosa’s performance was an extraordinary example of state-of-the-art world jazz, splendidly illustrating how entrancing the music can become when it is open and receptive to global input and interaction.” “His visceral understanding of the full range of Cuban rhythms never went away, investing his piano playing with a rich stylistic diversity and a passionate emotional expressiveness.”

Share this post

Back to Entradas